Back to Top

International Society for the
Study of Vascular Anomalies


The International Society for the Study of Vascular Anomalies (ISSVA) is the formalization of prior biennial international workshops, which were started in 1976 by Drs. John Mulliken and Anthony Young, of specialists interested in the diagnosis, management and investigation of these disorders.

ISSVA was officially founded in 1992, two years after its first International Workshop (now called the "International Congress") held in 1990 in Amsterdam. The basic concepts behind the workshops has been maintained over the years as the field burgeoned around the original classification of vascular anomalies developed, revised and codified by ISSVA.

ISSVA Meetings

1990: Workshop in Amsterdam, the Netherlands
1992: Workshop in Denver, Colorado, United States
1994: Workshop in Budapest, Hungary
1996: Workshop in Rome, Italy
1998: Workshop in Berlin, Germany
2000: Workshop in Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2002: Workshop in Nijmegen, the Netherlands
2004: Workshop in Wellington, New Zealand
2006: Workshop in Milan, Italy
2008: Workshop in Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2010: Workshop in Brussels, Belgium
2012: Workshop in Malmö, Sweden
2014: Workshop in Melbourne, Australia
2016: Workshop in Buenos Aires, Argentina
2018: Workshop in Amsterdam, the Netherlands
2020: Congress hosted Virtually
           2021: Debates & Updates meeting hosted Virtually
2022: Congress in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
           2023: Debates & Updates in Boston, Massachusetts, United States

ISSVA Presidents

1994-1996: Robert Schobinger (Switzerland)
1996-1998: John Mulliken (United States)
1998-2000: Anthony Young (Great Britain)
2000-2002: Romain Vanwijck (Belgium)
2002-2006: Dirk Loose (Germany)
2006-2008: Wayne Yakes (United States)
2008-2010: Paul Rieu (the Netherlands)
2010-2012: Patricia Burrows (United States)
2012-2014: Hans-Peter Berlien (Germany)
2014-2016: Steven Fishman (United States)
2016-2018: Laurence Boon (Belgium)
2018-2020: Ilona Frieden (United States)
2020-2022: Anthony Penington (Australia)
2022-2024: Francine Blei (United States)

Scientific Committee Chairs

1994-2002: Odile Enjolras (France)
2002-2008: Josee Dubois (Canada)
2008-2012: Laurence Boon (Belgium)
2012-2020: Francine Blei (United States)
2020-Present: Dov Goldenberg (Brazil)